Awards WCO 2021

Dear Colleagues

It is our great pleasure to announce the individual winners of this year’s prestigious IOF and ESCEO annual Awards. The Awards pay tribute to the scientific work, individual achievements and extraordinary commitment of scientific experts and bone health advocates from around the world. We will be presenting the Awards officially during ceremonies at the virtual WCO-IOF-ESCEO 2021, being held from August 26 to 29, 2021.

In the meantime, we would like to take this opportunity to warmly congratulate all our deserving award winners. We salute their efforts and outstanding accomplishments which have contributed to advances in the field and to improved care for patients with musculoskeletal disorders.

Professor Jean-Yves Reginster
President of ESCEO
Professor Cyrus Cooper
President of IOF


Listed in order of planned presentation at the WCO-IOF-ESCEO 2021

IOF Olof Johnell Science Award

Awarded in recognition of global contributions to the field of osteoporosis in a scientific or policy implementation area.
Dr Manju Chandran
Dr Manju Chandran, MD, FACP, FACE, FAMS, CCD
Senior Consultant and Director Osteoporosis and Bone Metabolism Unit, Department of Endocrinology, Singapore General Hospital, DUKE-NUS Graduate Medical School, Chair of the Asia Pacific Consortium on Osteoporosis (APCO), Member of the Board, International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF).

IOF President's Award

Awarded in recognition of significant and unstinting contributions to the advancement of the work of the IOF, through furthering one or more of the mission statements and/or goals of the Foundation.
Philippe Halbout
Dr Philippe Halbout, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer of the International Osteoporosis Foundation, former IOF
Executive President, with a more than 15-year career background in osteoporosis-related research and development.

IOF Committee of Scientific Advisors (CSA) Medal of Achievement

Awarded to an individual who has significantly advanced the field of osteoporosis through their original and outstanding scientific contributions.
Prof. Nancy Lane
Professor Nancy E. Lane, MD
Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Rheumatology at the University of California at Davis, School of Medicine and U. C. Davis Health; Inaugural Director for the Center for Musculoskeletal Health and the recipient of the Endowed Chair for Aging Research and Education (2005 to 2020).

ESCEO-IOF Herbert Fleisch Medal

Awarded in recognition of outstanding and ground-breaking achievements in basic bone science.
Prof. Fielding
Professor Roger A. Fielding, Ph.D.
Associate Center Director, Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University; Director and Senior Scientist, Nutrition, Exercise Physiology, and Sarcopenia Laboratory; Professor of Nutrition and Medicine Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, Tufts University School of Medicine; Associate Director, Boston Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Center.

2020 ESCEO Medal of Excellence

Awarded to honour and reward an outstanding contribution to the field of bone, joint and muscle from an established researcher.
Prof. E Cavalier
Professor Etienne Cavalier, Ph.D.
Professor of Clinical Chemistry and Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry, University Hospital of Liège, University of Liège; President of the Royal Belgium Society of Laboratory Medicine; President of the Royal Belgium Society of Laboratory Medicine.

IOF Committee of National Societies (CNS) Medal

Awarded to an individual who has made an important contribution to IOFs Committee of National Societies (CNS) through active participation in CNS activities and by expanding IOF’s message and outreach in his/her country.
Ngozi Njeze
Dr Ngozi Njeze, MD
Senior Lecturer, Enugu Campus of the University of Nigeria; Consultant Radiologist at the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Ituku Ozalla, Enugu; Fellow and Examiner of the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria; Founder and Chair of the Foundation for Awareness of Osteoporosis, Nigeria.

ESCEO-IOF Pierre Meunier Young Scientist Award

Awarded to a young investigator who has demonstrated outstanding scientific merit early in his or her career, prior to reaching a prominent academic position, and who is expected to be a future thought-leader in the musculoskeletal field.
Nicola Veronese
Assistant Professor Nicola Veronese, MD
Senior researcher at the University of Palermo, Health Promotion, Maternal and Child Health; Internal Medicine and Specialty of Excellence "G. D'Alessandro".
IOF-ESCEO will announce the winners of the following awards during the WCO-IOF-ESCEO 2021: IOF Skeletal Rare Disesease Acadamy Awards, ESCEO-IOF Young Investigator Awards, and ESCEO-AgNovos Healthcare Young Investigator Awards.